taste of the caribbean winners

Barbados Wins Big At Taste of the Caribbean in Miami

taste of the caribbean winnersThe island of Barbados has been crowned the 2017 official culinary champion of the Caribbean.

This comes on the heels of the island winning Chef of the Year at the 2016 leg of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association’s (CHTA) Taste of the Caribbean competition held in Florida. 

This year’s event saw 14 different Caribbean islands vying for the title, which went to Trinidad and Tobago in 2016. This time around, the twin island placed second.

Barbados also received awards in several categories, including Gold in the Caribbean Chef of the Year category, Gold in the Caribbean Pastry Chef of the Year Category, Gold in the Caribbean Junior Chef of the Year category, and Silver in the Caribbean Beef Competition.

The Barbados team included Chefs Damian Leach, Willis Griffith, Kirk Ruck, Andre Nurse, Javon Cummins and Ron Maynard; Junior Chef Nicolas Ifill and Mixologist Ryan Adamson. The team was accompanied by Team Manager Henderson Butcher, Team Training Assistant, Glenroy Alleyne and Bartender Training Manager Jamaal Bowen.

By: Danielle Dixon

Follow her on Twitter: @tooprettydani



Share With:
Rate This Article
No Comments

Leave A Comment